So done with SNL….

1 02 2011

On January 29th, SNL aired a very dehumanizing skit about our community, specifically the TS community.  It was hurtful, it was spiteful and insensitive, and it was not funny. Sent to NBC Studios/SNL….

I have been a very supportive and avid fan of SNL since the show first aired way back when.  I am a transsexual woman, living in the NY Metro area, I am professionally employed, I have a family I support and am a part of the local community.  Never in my 48 years have I felt so marginalized and abused as with the airing of this skit on the most recent SNL.

I recently transitioned, and work was the most difficult, in trying to maintain relationships and the respect of others.  I’ve had my very personal information briefed to over 550 coworkers with very specific information about my transition.  Your skit will now only make it that much harder to maintain that respect.

You may see it as funny, but it is not.  Trans-identified individuals are the most maligned group of any: more than one-third of all trans will take their own lives, while 80%, including myself, have seriously contemplated suicide.  As a Suicide crisis counselor, this is an issue I fight to reverse every day.  How can you be so very insensitive to a group of individuals who already suffer extreme discrimination and bias – do you realize that many trans are fired because of their desire to live, that they lose their homes, cannot afford basic healthcare or even food?  That we lose our families – as I have – thank you for that too and now MY children will get a good laugh.. sadly they will be all the more embarrassed.

You should be embarrassed for putting that trash on the air, and I request an apology – on air – to the community, particularly the transsexual community.. we are just like you, trying to get by, support our families, be responsible citizens, and simply live our lives as normally and uneventfully as possible… thank you for screwing that all to hell…..

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 02 2011
Jamie

I find it interesting that you found the SNL skit “dehumanizing” to the “TS Community,” yet immediately below your post is found the following advertisement which I have cut and pasted:

Ads by Google
Pretty Ladyboys
Ladyboys from Asia are looking for friendship and love with men
http://www.LadyboyKisses.com

Funny you don’t find that any challenge to maintaining your “respect.” Most of the transsexuals I know would find that advertisment offensive. Not to mention “insensitive,” and “dehumanizing.”

2 02 2011
Keri Marie

I find it interesting that all you can muster is an attack on me for voicing an opinion against a public entity that is in fact also dehumanizing you. That you have – nothing – to say about the show itself. By the way, did you write to everyone else on FB who is also speaking out against this??

It’s too bad you don’t use some of that spite directed at me here in a positive way. Like trying to help the community. And, by the way, I have no problems maintaining my respect, because I know that at least I am out there, saying something, trying to do something, trying to effect change. Perhaps you might clue me in on why you’re so angry with me, and yet not the show…. that I also find interesting.

2 02 2011
Jamie

Attack? If pointing out that you are an unwitting hypocrite is an attack, then I so be it.

I was not offended by the skit. I thought it was not only hilarious, but it was so because, as in the best humor, there was more than just a grain of truth to it.

A Facebook protest? Wow. That’s just going to change the world, isn’t? I bet those folks in Egypt feel pretty stupid that they didn’t think of THAT instead of rioting in the streets, huh?

You’re even dumber than I thought you were when I first stumbled across this clown car you call a blog.

2 02 2011
Keri Marie

You do realize the ads change…. so don’t see all the ads, but that’s not the point. Again… avoid the issue; what I’ve done to piss you off is a public mystery, but seriously, you should take care of those anger issues cause they aren’t healthy… namaste…

2 02 2011
Jamie

Piss me off? You never did, until you jumped down my throat for pointing out that your desire to make money off your blog, was working against taking your stance of being offended seriously…. That’s the issue. I never avoided it. You did.

Yeah, I know the ads change, and that you have no control over which ones appear. But you do have control over whether they appear at all.

What I was saying, if you could get over yourself and your inability to stand the slightest criticism, was If you want to be taken seriously when you get all up in arms over someone else’s offense to transsexuals, you should look in the mirror, first.

So which is more important to you? To be taken seriously, or the pennies you get from the click throughs from these ads you have no control over? I mean really… you must make at least a whole dollar or two a month from them, right? Is that worth being made to look as foolish to others as you looked when that one appeared, yesterday?

You honestly can’t see how ridiculous it was to be taking such offense at SNL while having such an ad appearing right below it?

2 02 2011
Keri Marie

OMG please stop, you’re cracking me up. Hate to tell ya dude, but I don’t get a penny from this blog, it’s not my intent to make any money from it, and I have no control of turning ads on or off… From WordPress itself..

“We sometimes run discreet AdSense advertisements on your blog to users who aren’t logged in and aren’t regular visitors..”.

Read it again….. this blog does not generate a single penny for me… period…. and the ads are beyond my control. The only one who is looking foolish right now is you, who for whatever reason holds a very personal grudge and is now grasping at straws to continue your personal tirade. Grow up… get a life… I don’t have time for your drama. This thread is now closed….